Dogzilla!

Lucy is much harder on soft toys than I expected for a spaniel. I have had to sew her fishie many times, and it’s missing a couple fins at this point. She ate the eyes off her pony and chewed a hole in its face. The other day she chewed one of the wings off her duck. Lucy goes through rawhide like nobody’s business.

I had been a little disappointed that she wasn’t keen on tennis balls because they’re cheap and plentiful, but given her proclivity for chewing, it’s really for the best, because swallowing the pieces could be a health hazard.*

Shortly after she came to live with me, I got her a Dogzilla ball (made by Booda). Five months later, it’s still one of her favorite toys. I like it because it’s extremely durable. It’s hard rubber, not air-filled, so it still has the same bounce today as it did when it came out of the package.

Yesterday, while out doing errands, I got her a couple new toys, one of which is a Dogzilla “bone.” She loves it!

It’s like three toys in one! It bounces, so it makes a fun retrieval toy. Because of its shape, it’s fun to play tug with it. And of course, chewing on it is very entertaining for her.

The “dental rope links” were not such a hit. In fact, Lucy doesn’t want to go near them. That surprises me given how much she enjoys playing tug. It’s probably something to do with the fabric. I had gotten her another tug toy made out of similar material that she also avoids.

Maybe she is picking up something that I’m not aware of. Apparently there is a problem with toxicity in many dog toys and bedding.

If you have a question about whether an item sold for use by a dog, cat or other pet is safe, visit HealthyStuff.org to check it out.

*I had heard in the past that the rubber from which tennis balls are made is toxic if ingested. My vet confirms that this is in fact not true.

UPDATE (1/30/11): It turns out that Lucy likes the “dental rings” just fine. In fact, she’s almost destroyed them at this point.

About honey.badger

enough about me. what about you?
This entry was posted in Toys. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

