Long Time No See

It’s been quite a while since I have written but, hey, what are you going to do?

Lucy is now almost 15 months old and is developing into a really lovely, well-mannered dog. She is still very energetic and full of fun, but staying consistent in my expectations, and listening to her when she says she needs something, is really paying off.

Back in early April Lucy and I went for a walk in a very lovely nature reserve where I took some great photos of her but, sadly, the camera strap broke. Since I didn’t notice the camera was gone until we were far away from wherever it fell, those pictures are lost and we have nothing more recent than the winter. Hopefully this summer I will be able to replace it. She’s growing fast, and it’s hard to believe she was so small or her hair was that short without photographic proof. Plus she’s just so damned cute!

We moved to an apartment almost two months ago, and it’s working out much better than I expected. I was concerned that Lucy would find it difficult not having a yard, but she has adapted very quickly. She loves going for walkies, which we do much more than before, and she seems to think it’s a pretty good trade. She is a very good apartment dog, to my tremendous relief.

I got Lucy a 50-foot lead so she can get some running in, and I’ve been really surprised and pleased how well she listens when I call her back and that she’s not constantly racing off to the end of the 50 feet. When we walk through the park with that length of leash she stays nicely by my side or a reasonable distance away. At the merest hint of a cat, she will bolt, but she is clearly making great strides in her ability and willingness to listen to me and behave well with more freedom.

What a good girl!

About honey.badger

enough about me. what about you?
This entry was posted in Growing Pains and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

